Head Above Water U.S. Book Launch

Date
Tue July 18th 2023, 9:00 - 10:30am
Location
Zoom Webinar

A Book Talk with Author Shahd Alshammari moderated by Dr. Ramzi Salti.

Tuesday, July 18, 2023

Virtual Event, RSVP 

9am PT, 5pm London, 7pm Kuwait

Dr. Shahd Alshammari is a Kuwaiti-Palestinian author and academic. She is the author of the books Notes on the Flesh and Head Above Water, as well as numerous other academic publications and papers. Her areas of research include illness narratives, disability studies, and questions of identity and language in the Arab world.

Shahd Alshammari is just eighteen when she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and told by her neurologist that she will not make it past age thirty.
Despite what she is told, by thirty she has managed to navigate education systems in both Kuwait and the United Kingdom, and inspire generations of students as a professor of literature.


Head above Water is the intimate memoir of Shahd Alshammari's life of triumph and resistance, as a woman marked "ill" by society and as a lifelong reader, student, and teacher.